Gratitude

This is a very personal post. It’s October, the extremely pink Breast Cancer Awareness month.

20131023-084509.jpg

Yesterday morning I was filled with fear and dread. Tears were so close to the surface. I was very quiet. My four-year appointment with my oncologist was yesterday afternoon. I’ve done this before….there is something so scary about this appointment. I just want it over. I just want my doctor to say I’m OK and closer to that five year mark. I wonder how I have the nerve to walk into that office…I just want to leave. Why do all the nurses greet you with “how are you”?

Fast forward an hour and I am a different person! Everything is OK! I’m laughing and hugging the nurses and social worker! I am fine!

There have been three overwhelming days of gratitude for me this summer. When the flag flew, I found myself taking a moment to just look at it and be thankful for the fabulous summer of sewing and friendship. When I finished filming my class, I took a moment of quiet to just look around the room and remember how grateful I was for the experience and the fun people I worked with. And yesterday, I was so very grateful for all of the wonderful health care people that have guided me through a scary pink journey. I walked out the door and took another moment to be thankful……

And then I went to Rhebs candy store across the street and bought Truffles!
Whew!

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Gratitude

  1. JoAnn

    So happy for you!

  2. Sue Hilton

    Am so glad all went well. Hugs!

  3. Teri

    phew! …. and thank you God for our Mimi.
    See
    you next month at Flying Geese Quilt Guild – looking forward to it!

  4. Maureen Craig

    So glad for you and your family. Hugs.

  5. Barbara Bien

    I am so grateful to have you as a friend.

    Barbara Bien

  6. Daisy Skupien

    What wonderful news! You are such a gift to the quilting community. It is great news for us, for your family and for you. Congrats on staying healthy and looking positively toward the future. Your attitude is a life lesson to all of us. Best wishes, Daisy

Leave a Reply

