Appliqueing Dogtooth Borders

I’m finishing a quilt top for a lecture in November….deadlines are so great for getting things done!
This quilt has a red appliquéd dogtooth border and it’s almost done!

First of all, I did some research and this is a dogtooth border….the appliquéd triangle edges are both diagonal and are the same size. A sawtooth border has one edge straight up and the other is diagonal…and a sawtooth border is usually pieced.

20131028-113601.jpg

So here’s what I’ve been doing….
I cut a strip of freezer paper 1 1/2″ wide and the length of the border. I marked it with a 1/2″ seam allowance, and triangles that are 2″ wide x 1″ tall. I cut the triangles and ironed it to a strip of red fabric about 2″ wide. I pinned the strip to the border and machine stitched around the freezer paper……through the red strip and the border.

20131028-114239.jpg

I peeled off the freezer paper…..the machine-stitched lines are now my appliqué lines…..and the triangles are placed just perfectly! Then I trimmed the red fabric, leaving 1/4″ seam allowances.

20131028-114450.jpg

I clipped the inner points, clipped the basting thread about every inch, and started to needle turn the seam allowance under and create a dogtooth!

20131028-114640.jpg

I continued up over a point……picking out the basting threads and needle turning about a half inch at a time until I finished.

20131028-114834.jpg

The outside corner looks like this…..with a big space between the teeth!

20131028-114927.jpg

Until I add the final triangle to make the border complete.

20131028-115018.jpg

Three more corners to finish….I think it will happen today! The biggest challenge was measuring so that each tooth was in the right place, but once I started stitching….it was fun to see it all come together!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

