Baltimore, Hon!

This past weekend was the annual HonFest in Baltimore. It’s a celebration of the fun women of Baltimore. If you have ever seen the Broadway show or movie Hairspray, you get the experience!

Most of you know that as a quilter, I love the Baltimore Album Quilts that were made in my city over 160 years ago. I teach classes and write books about them. But a few years ago, I had this idea about making a different kind of Baltimore quilt. I used the same techniques, but stepped out of my comfort zone after taking a class with Mary Lou Weidman from Washington state. My Baltimore Hon is colorful, fun, creative, and celebrates Baltimore with her beehive hairdo, dimensional figure, flowers, Oriole and Raven birds, and a crab cake! She’s travelling to The Quilters Hall of Fame with me! 

 And just for fun, here’s a real live Baltimore Hon, my friend Stacy, who won the title of Baltimore’s Best Hon in 2013.   

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

