Favorite Colors

I love the colors in Baltimore Album Quilts. I fell in love with the red and green combinations when I first saw an antique Baltimore quilt, but there are blues and pinks and golds that bring the quilts to life! 

These are the colors in my thread collection! The first time I opened the box and saw all the colors together, it took my breath away! The eight colors on the left are thin threads (size 50) that blend so well into fabrics that I love to use in quilts. Did you know that in some of the old quilts, the colorful fabrics are appliquéd with cream-colored thread to match the background? Yes! You can use the cream color for almost anything!

  The four threads on the right are heavier threads (size 12)…..cream for quilting, gold for embroidery, pink and red for gathering fabrics. My favorite thread is the pink shaded thread….I’m using it to gather strips of fabric to make ruched roses! It’s stronger than the thin thread and blends in perfectly! Love it! 
 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

