My Applique Lecture

No, this isn’t my lecture that goes with the Power Point, it’s my “lecture” at the start of most of my classes…..

“I’m going to show you my favorite Applique techniques. If you take a class from someone else, if you watch a You-Tube video, if you watch a friend Applique, you need to know that ALL of the techniques are correct. We all do things a little differently. Your job is to try them all, decide which methods you like the best, and do whatever is best for you! It’s your quilt!”

I love this! Sometimes students are searching for the “correct” way to Applique. This can apply to cooking, gardening, sewing, almost anything! There’s lots of ways to do things, you just need to find the best way for you!

In my classes, I always suggest that students use colors they love. Sure, traditionally Baltimore Album Quilts are red and green, but magic happens when students put their own personality and creativity into their quilts!

One of my favorite quilts from my year-long class is this black and white Baltimore. It’s the only time a student has completely made a quilt in my class from black and white prints on a black background. It takes my breath away every time I see it!  I love it, Janice!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

