A New Year!

Sew every once in a while, a quilter gets blocked. So do artists and writers and anyone who creates stuff they love. This quilter has been blocked last year. It’s been a busy fabulous year, but it’s been hard to make something new. I’ve been catching up on my classes, making samples, and I spent the first half of the year getting ready for Celebration…finishing quilts, labeling quilts, making hanging sleeves, and making sure it was all ready. I’m not complaining, I’m just setting this up.

So when this happens to artists, they are told to Play. That means paint for the fun of it all, for the experience of color, to get things moving. In the movie Finding Neverland, J.M. Barrie talks about the fun of writing for the stage…that’s why they call it Play! 

So here I am at the beginning of a new year and I realized that’s what I’ve been doing….Play!

A friend invited me to the Baltimore Symphony…what a fun night as the wonderful conductor led us through the Four Seasons. I took my DIL and Granddaughter to the theater to see The Secret Garden. What a delightful afternoon of music and scenery and play! And my friend Joan who designs with flowers, helped us make table decorations for the holidays. It’s fun to experience what other artists do.

In a quilters world, it’s just fun to sew. This is Play of the best kind! My friend Laurie calls it Sewing Your Brain Out. I’ve made some quilts this fall simply because I wanted to just sew pieces together. You will see these quilts soon!

Sometimes you need help when you are blocked. In a quilters world, this might mean shopping for a new piece of fabric, or asking for help with color, or as we call it, Quilting by Check! That means asking a professional quilter to quilt for us….quilting the three layers of fabric together to complete a quilt. A couple weeks ago, I took four quilt tops to be quilted and they came back finished. Suddenly, the fabrics I’ve been playing with became real quilts! 

Here’s one of them…I love the flowers quilted over the strips of color. I will share the others later. 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “A New Year!

  1. Beautiful! Those colors sing.

Leave a Reply

